City Diary



To view the Lord Mayor’s Appeal programme of events, please visit http://www.thelordmayorsappeal.org/events/

Lunches in Livery Halls. There are several halls who offer regular weekly or monthly lunches to liverymen or freemen and their guests, of any company. They need to be booked in advance, and details of some are below:

Butchers' Hall, every Wednesday Book here

Ironmongers' Hall, every MondayBook here

Watermen's Hall, monthly Fridays Details here

MARCH
 2014

Mon-Sat through to 29th March - The Worshipful Company of Needlemakers Exhibition at the Guildhall Library

Monday 3rd March - Inter livery Bridge Competition at Drapers' Hall(organised by the Makers of Playing Cards Company)


Tuesday 4th March - Shrove Tuesday: Inter Livery Pancake Races in Guildhall Yard(organised by the Poulters' Company)

Monday 10th March - Modern Companies Dinner at Wax Chandlers' Hall (organised by the Engineers' Company)

Tuesday 18th March - Livery Schools Link Showcase Event at Apothercaries' Hall (organised by LSL)

25th March - Lady Day

Wednesday 26th March - Lord Mayor's visit to Treloar College

Sunday 30th March - British Summer Time begins. Clocks spring forward. Mothering Sunday.

APRIL
 2014

Thursday 3rd April - Lord Mayor's Banquet for Masters & Prime Wardens at Mansion House


Friday 4th April - United Guilds' Service at St Paul's Cathedral



Thursday 10th April - Lord Mayor's Big Curry Lunch at Guildhall, in aid of ABF The Soldiers Charity.

18th April - Good Friday

20th April - Easter Sunday

23rd April - St George's Day

MAY

Thursday 1stMay - City Briefing at Livery Hall in Guildhall

Tuesday 13thMay - Festival of the Sons of the Clergy at St Paul's


Thursday 15thMay - Inter livery Golf at Walton Heath "Prince Arthur Cup"(organised by the Coachmakers' Company)(note, there are several other inter livery golf events arranged through the year)


Friday 16th- 18th May - Inter livery Regatta at Cowes (organised by the City Livery Yacht Club)

Wednesday 21stMay -Inter livery Clay Shootat Holland & Holland ground (organised by the Environmental Cleaners' Company)


Monday 26th May - Spring Bank Holiday

Thursday 29th May - Ascension Day. Beating the Bounds at All Hallows by the Tower

JUNE

Thursday 5thJune - Admiral of the Port’s Challenge

Friday 6th– 8thJune - Ironbridge Livery Weekend
(organised by the Ironbridge Gorge Museum)

Monday 9th June - City Livery Club Centenary Banquet at Guildhall (organised by the City Livery Club)

Monday 23rd June -Knollys Rose Ceremony(organised by the Watermen & Lightermen)

Tuesday 24th June - Election of Sheriffs at Guildhall

Thursday 26th June - Livery Schools Link Event (organised by LSL)

JULY

Friday 4th July - 150th anniversary of the first recorded meeting of the Livery Committee

Tuesday 15th July - Doggett's Coat & Badge Race (organised by the Fishmongers’ Company)

Wednesday 16th July -- Cart Marking, in Guildhall Yard

Third week in July - Swan Upping, on River Thames

Thursday 31st July - Ray Jeffs Golf competition at Hartley Wintney (organsed by Livery Schools Link)

AUGUST

Monday 25th August - Summer Bank Holiday

SEPTEMBER

Monday 8th September - Modern Companies Dinner at Wax Chandlers' Hall (organised by the Fuellers' Company)

Wednesday 10th September - Inter livery Tennis, at Queens Club(organised by the Feltmakers' Company)


Thursday 18th September -Walk of All Livery Halls for Masters(organised by the Environmental Cleaners' Company)


Monday 29th September -Election of Lord Mayor at Guildhall

Tuesday 30thSeptember -Wardens & Court Assistants Course

OCTOBER

Thursday 9th October -City Briefing at Livery Hall in Guildhall

Sunday 26th October -British Summer Time ends. Clocks fall back.

NOVEMBER

Monday 3rd November - Royal British Legion Garden of Rememberance at St Paul's Churchyard

Friday 7th November - Silent Ceremony at Guildhall - swearing in of the new Lord Mayor

Saturday 8thNovember -Lord Mayor's Show

Monday 17thNovember -City Briefingat Livery Hall in Guildhall

Wednesday 19th November -Lord Mayor's Briefing to Masters and Prime Wardens, and their Clerks, at Mansion House

DECEMBER

Monday 1st December - Wellbeing of Women Christmas Fair at Drapers' Hall

City Diary 2015

JANUARY2015

Saturday tba January - Lord Mayor's Childrens' Party at Mansion House

Monday 19th January - Clerks' Briefing at Plaisterers' Hall (organised by the Livery Committee)


FEBRUARY2015

2nd February - Candlemas

Tuesday 10th February -After DinnerPublic Speaking Course for Future Mastersin Guildhall

Tuesday 17th February - Shrove Tuesday: Inter Livery Pancake Races in Guildhall Yard(organised by the Poulters' Company)

Wednesday 18th February -City Briefingat Livery Hall in Guildhall

Thursday 26thFebruary -Tacitus Lecturein Guildhall(organised by the World Traders' Company)

MARCH
 2015

Monday 2nd March -Inter livery Bridge Competitionat Drapers' Hall(organised by the Makers of Playing Cards Company)


Monday 9th March - Modern Companies Dinner - date and venue TBC (organised by the Lightmongers' Company)

Monday TBC March - Inter livery Swimathon at RAC Epsom 
(organised by the Chartered Surveyors' Company)

Thursday 19th March - Lord Mayor's Banquet for Masters & Prime Wardens at Mansion House


Friday 20th March - United Guilds' Service at St Paul's Cathedral

25th March - Lady Day

Sunday 29th March -British Summer Time begins. Clocksspringforward. Mothering Sunday.

Nigel Pullman 2014